Raft of Stars

Raft of Stars

A Novel

Book - 2021
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"An instant classic, for fans of Huckleberry Finn, Peace Like a River, and Jim the Boy: when two hardscrabble young boys think they've committed a crime, they flee into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Will the adults trying to find and protect them reach them before it's too late?"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2021]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2021
ISBN: 9780063031906
9780063031920
Characteristics: 288 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Best friends Fischer ("Fish") and Dale ("Bread") are inseparable and spend the summer of 1994 together, roaming the country around the Northwoods area of Wisconsin. Fish and his grandfather, Teddy, know that Bread's father, Jack, is physically and verbally abusive to him and d... Read More »

Best friends Fischer ("Fish") and Dale ("Bread") are inseparable and spend the summer of 1994 together, roaming the country around the Northwoods area of Wisconsin. Fish and his grandfather, Teddy, know that Bread's father, Jack, is physically and verbally abusive to him and d... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
Reads_A_Lot
Mar 29, 2021

A little slow at the start. More introspective than adventurous. A lot of time is spent inside the characters’ heads. But by the half way point both the pace and the action picked up and I was hooked. This book has 3 pairs of characters, and for some them the time spent in the wilderness during the crisis gives them a clearer picture of who they are and who they want to be. As a nature lover I enjoyed the Norther Wisconsin setting and the journey down the river. I enjoy stories that revolve around spunky kids, so I also liked the friendship and bond between young Fish and Bread. Good debut by this author. I look forward to future books by him.

DCLadults Mar 12, 2021

A New & Noteworthy staff pick 2021. An adventure story set in the wilds of Wisconsin as two young friends who believe they have killed an abusive father decide to raft downriver to safety. But it’s not safe at all. These two youngsters are fierce and true and I was rooting for them all along.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top