The Jane Austen Society

The Jane Austen Society

Book - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
23
2
""Fans of The Chilbury Ladies' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society... A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." -Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable. One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people-a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others-could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society. A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2020.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
ISBN: 9781250248732
1250248736
9781250248725
Characteristics: 309 pages ; 25 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

In a small English village in the post-WWII years, Jane Austen's final home (the author died over a century before) attracts occasional visits from devotees traveling through the region, but otherwise the estate is gradually dispersing under economic strain. Meanwhile, several Austen admirers - l... Read More »

In a small English village in the post-WWII years, Jane Austen's final home (the author died over a century before) attracts occasional visits from devotees traveling through the region, but otherwise the estate is gradually dispersing under economic strain. Meanwhile, several Austen admirers - l... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
n
norma777
Jan 05, 2021

Austen fans will like this book. Interesting speculative fiction about what might have happened if. . . an unlikely group of Austen fans created a society to preserve the Knight family (descendants of Jane's brother, Edward) library and preserve Chawton House as a Jane Austen museum. When the patriarch of the Knight. (Jane,s brother Edward,s )familly dies, shocking, recent changes to his will are revealed These changes put the Society goals in danger. Will a new heir appear? Will Frances, daughter of the deceased, lose the estate? Will the library remain intact? Will the estate be saved? Most importantly. Will seemingly unrequited love blossom into so.drying more?

Written in a style similar to Austen,s own, it is charming, light read.

e
esrobbins
Dec 18, 2020

A cute story that is an easy read. I’ve only read 2 of Austen’s novels so I probably missed some cool connections in this novel but I still enjoyed reading it. It’s not going to blow your mind but it’s a good read if you enjoy/know Austen well.

k
kwylie04
Oct 23, 2020

I was tentative going into this book. I had tried reading similar books before about Jane Austen and/or her family, and had been woefully disappointed by them being either too outlandish or just plain boring. However, in the case of this debut novel by Natalie Jenner, I was pleasantly surprised and ended up enjoying it very much.

Austen and her works are at the very center of this book in more than just the obvious - the title and plot to preserve the places where she spent her final days. As the story progresses, you begin to see elements of Austen's novels playing out within the lives of the different characters as well, which makes it great fun in looking for the parallels.

For some, the story may be too light and fluffy and romantic, but I honestly think that was kind of the point. Austen's novels are about characters who strive to change and improve themselves in order to find happiness, and that is something you see within Jenner's story. Overall, this is a delightful, light read for someone looking to relax.

v
Vicky94063
Oct 15, 2020

I found this book to be absolutely delightful. My take was this was not a book intended to be for or to appeal to Austen fans, rather it was a book about human relationships and how we all struggle to see ourselves and recognise what pain and other emotions we might be holding within. It was through the Austen characters that the characters of the book were able to recognise themselves. A truly enjoyable read.

k
kyle000
Oct 05, 2020

I enjoyed this book!

f
furlan
Sep 30, 2020

I read 60 pages and stopped. Didn't like the characters or the writing style. Author tried too hard to incorporate Austen's characters and stories with this effort. Disappointing

h
Honicoop
Sep 28, 2020

Loved the story line. Intriguing characters and unable to put it down. Would love to have author at one of our Zook(zoom book) Club meetings. I have not read alot of Jane Austen and still enjoyed the book.
Will look forward to more writing by this author.

e
Einer2
Sep 27, 2020

Not a Jane Austen fan but I loved this book!

b
betsymarzoni
Sep 26, 2020

Delightful novel that reads much like a Jane Austen manuscript. Great characters you come to love as much as they love Austen's works.

WPL_Andrea Sep 10, 2020

You don't have to be an Austen fan to enjoy this book! There are many references to Austen's books throughout that add to the story but you don't have to have read the books to appreciate the references. If you loved Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society you will want to read this book.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cknightkc
Aug 01, 2020

“Reading, she now understood, had been her own choice of rebellion.” - p.73

c
cknightkc
Aug 01, 2020

“…inside the pages of each and every book was a whole other world.
He could disappear inside that world whenever he needed to—whenever he felt the outside world, and other people, pressing in on him—a pressure from social contact and expectations that was surely routine for everyone else, but affected him much more intensely and inexplicably. But he could also experience things from other people’s points of view and learn their lessons alongside them, and—most important to him—discover the key to living a happy life.” - pp. 7-8.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top