We Cast A Shadow

We Cast A Shadow

A Novel

eBook - 2019
Average Rating:
Rate this:
2
"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : One World, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780525509080
0525509089
Characteristics: 1 online resource (324 pages)

Opinion

From Library Staff

Ruffin's exceptional debut novel is a dystopian satire that is so incisive it will dazzle you with biting humor all while filling you with a sense of deep unease. In a near future Southern city, an unnamed black narrator is subjected to a series of indignities and humiliations as he tries, dogged... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
JCLS_Ashland_Kristin May 15, 2019

Darkly satirical. While I'm glad I read this one, the author does an excellent job of making this white reader uncomfortable. I'd give this to fans of Friday Black...

s
star2014
Apr 22, 2019

First, let me state that after about 100 pages, I called it quits with this novel. I think of this novel as a satirical social commentary of the future,and in that respect, the author did succeed. However, with an overuse of stereotypical racial images and cliches, several other underlying themes were buried. The author is a skilled writer, and I am hoping that his next novel will be more appealing..

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top