The Mummy

The Mummy

DVD - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
69
2
2
 …
Though safely entombed in a crypt deep beneath the unforgiving desert, an ancient princess, whose destiny was unjustly taken from her, is awakened in the current day. Her malevolence, grown over millennia, unleashes terrors that defy human comprehension.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jul 25, 2018

The movie “The Mummy” is a fantastic movie full of adventurous events and action-packed tales. The animation of this movie was marvellous especially with the special effects, the special effects of this movie was absolutely perfect. Unlike other movies which seem very fake, “The Mummy” has the most realistic looking special effects by far. This movie actually seemed very real and would make you reconsider if mummy’s can actually rise from the dead. “The Mummy” has an outstanding plot with some journalists and thieves discovering a tomb of an Egyptian queen. Although The Mummy has the power to control people and can talk to the thieves in their mind, while a research group analyzes her. The emotion and mood which this movie emits is unbelievable with bits of fear, anger and suspense. Throughout the movie, the emotion was very tense with every little event. I believe that this movie is only enjoyable and appropriate for teens and adults as there is some disturbing parts. “The Mummy” is definitely terrifying for young children. Anyone who loves history or mummies will enjoy every second of this movie. Rating 4/5
- @Chichiro of the Teen Review Board of the Hamilton Public Library

a
akirakato
May 20, 2018

Directed by Alex Kurtzman in 2017, this action-adventure-fantasy depicts the re-birth of Princess Ahmanet of the New Kingdom of the ancient Egypt.
Although special effects appear really great and fascinating, the story seems unbelievable and childish.
In any case, I enjoyed this flick as a thrilling entertainment.

s
ScorchingSun
Apr 16, 2018

Why didn't this one work? It had the requisite special effects and strong action sequences.
Perhaps Cruise sabotaged the film by choosing to portray a central character who was a goofball smart-mouth, though deep down decent guy.
It worked for Brendan Fraser in his Mummy series but that was a fun-filled, high adventure, exotic locale type of romp. This film tried for a darker, more sombre approach, but then threw in Tom Cruise and his jarring Jerry Lewis-like antics.

d
Dolly9433
Apr 16, 2018

Disliked it so much that half way thru I disconnected it and disengaged from (no lack of boredom) seeing the rest of this 'poorly', made film. I agree with all the negative reviews this time. Don't waste your time and move on to a better film: which is very unlike, 'Tom Cruise', films that are mostly enjoyable to watch.... In fact I have watched his, "War of the Worlds", on t.v. many times, "Valkery", is good, etc... I'm going to take out, "American Made", soon which I heard was good.
Thx.

r
Raconteur
Apr 04, 2018

I wanted to LOVE it... but it just didn't satisfy me overall. The best thing was Tom Cruise who seemed out of place in the movie to be honest. Lots of visual effects and an elaborate backstory, but overall don't expect to be amazed after watching.

p
Palomino
Mar 18, 2018

2 stars is enormously generous, but I liked the pretty horses, and the end credits had nice music. I would watch this again if I was too sick to move, it was kind of generic and monster-ey adventurous, with the lamest plot ever.

Superficially there are interesting aspects of the screenplay and how it weaves ISIS in Mosul, the Knights Templar and a tongue-in-check Tom Cruise with Russell Crowe as Dr. Jekyll/Mr. Hyde. The problem is the overwhelming majority of the movie is more of the same theme-park ride action/adventure/thriller schlock. You can read a newspaper at the same time you watch this one, or putter around your living room doing chores.

t
Talayeh
Mar 16, 2018

hi people this book is Awesome!!!! and please read this book if u really like fiction books I think this is the BEST one .

c
cubbie01
Mar 13, 2018

Was really looking forward to this one but alas, was disappointed again by a big franchise re-boot that fails to rise from the dead. Rent the original Brendan Fraser movies instead.

j
JohnGuest_0
Mar 12, 2018

Film critics panned this movie, pretty much universally.

Usually, I don't trust film critics but this time they got one right.

It's junk.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

d
danield_sk
Feb 17, 2018

danield_sk thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

g
green_dolphin_1215
Sep 22, 2017

green_dolphin_1215 thinks this title is suitable for 5 years and under

Quotes

Add a Quote

j
jimg2000
Oct 09, 2017

The legend:
Well, we've developed this theory that an Egyptian princess had been erased from the history books deliberately. We've been searching for something called the Dagger of Set. A ceremonial knife with a large jewel at the hilt. Set is the Egyptian god of death. And legend has it that the dagger and the stone, together, had the power to give Set physical form. I'm convinced it was hidden here in Europe. Stolen by Crusaders centuries ago. I found reference to it in a manuscript written by a Crusader knight that suggested the dagger was broken apart. That the stone was buried with this
knight somewhere here in England. A massive Crusader tomb was recently discovered under London. We believe that the stone is in there somewhere. That tomb is what led us to Ahmanet. I think she's the princess in the legend. The hieroglyphs said she murdered her father. ... Along with his child. She made some sort of pact with the god of death...

j
jimg2000
Oct 09, 2017

It is my job to make sure that anything of value stays out of enemy hands. We have no idea what could be down there. The contents of Tutankhamun's tomb alone were valued at 650 million pounds sterling.
===
Perhaps. Sometimes, it does take a monster to fight a monster.
===
He is also still a man.
-A good man. Perhaps. Yet he has only begun to discover his power. And we cannot know which side will win out. Between darkness and light, good or evil.
===
Princess Ahmanet. Beautiful, cunning, and ruthless. Sole heir to the throne of Egypt. The pharaoh's kingdom would one day be hers to rule without mercy or fear. And Ahmanet would be worshipped as a living god. But Pharaoh had a son. The boy, now, would inherit her destiny. And Ahmanet understood power was not given. It had to be taken.
===
But death is a doorway, and the past cannot remain buried forever.

Notices

Add Notices

a
AMerr22
Oct 17, 2017

Frightening or Intense Scenes: Some frightening images.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top