We Were Liars

We Were Liars

eBook - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
121
27
9
 …
-- We Were Liars ·€€Never-before-shared letters from Gat to Cadence ·€€A fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the author's creative process ·€€The author's hand-drawn map of Beechwood Island and the Sinclair family tree ·€€Unique ideas for book discussions--Sinclair family-style ·€€An excerpt from E. Lockhart's upcoming novel -- Praise for -- New York Times€ "--We Were Liars€"You're going to want to remember the title€ "An ambitious novel with an engaging voice, "No one should be talking about the shocking twist ending. What we can talk about is ... (Lockhart's) razor-sharp portrayal of a family for whom keeping up appearances is paramount and, ultimately, tragic." --Chicago Tribune.
Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Random House Children's Books, 2017.
Edition: Deluxe edition.
ISBN: 9781524766955
152476695X
Characteristics: 1 online resource (272 pages)

Opinion

From Library Staff

In this excellent YA novel, Cadence Sinclair belongs to a wealthy, emotionally distant family. She adores her summers on their Massachusetts island until a traumatic accident leaves her struggling to recall the events of her fifteenth summer. Fans of John Green and Gillian Flynn will enjoy this ... Read More »

The Sinclair family is perfect: rich and beautiful, they spend their summers on a private island. But Cadence Sinclair isn’t perfect anymore. Something happened on that island—something she can’t remember. Now she must return to the island and try to find out the truth from her best friends… the ... Read More »

Comment
amykduffy May 28, 2014

I thought I had guessed the twist at the end, but I was totally off. Now I need to find some folks who have read it so I can compare notes.

Readers will be intrigued by the emotionally distant, wealthy family and the relatable teen characters. The mystery pushes the story along and it's hard ... Read More »

Comment
mawls Aug 14, 2014

The beautiful, descriptive language is a feat on its own, but then throw in the story and all its twists and you've got yourself an intriguing story of friendship, family and how they sometimes crash into each other with harrowing results. I was left guessing until the end and what an end it is.

Comment
Laura_Jenkins May 03, 2014

A stunning story with an ending that will leave you gasping. After you collect yourself, you'll want to start over at page one to find all of the clues you missed. This one I will be pressing into the hands of every teen girl I encounter.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
asgoldstein11
Jun 18, 2020

This novel follows a young girl Cadence Sinclair and her family on their summer island. The Sinclairs keep many secrets and hidden dramas that Cadence slowly unravels as the summer progresses. Through many surprises and an epic plot twist, you learn the true story of the Sinclair family. This book handles the sensitive topics of trauma and loss beautifully, and will leave you thinking about it long after you finish.

c
creativegirly123
Apr 01, 2020

This book is a beautiful master piece. You feel every kind of emotion through out the story.Every character has a unique personality and you just fell in love with all of them.This is a kind of story that will leave a really deep impact on you ,it will give you hope,make you happy and break your heart .I will recommend this not only to teens but also to adults. A book similar to this one is Genuine Fraud.

l
Llaureys66
Jan 25, 2020

This book was recommended to me by a young bookseller, and although it is a ya book, it was a good read for the more mature reader as well. It has interesting characters, colorful prose, and a suspenseful twist at the end.

s
sdpollitt
Nov 04, 2019

I enjoyed this book so much I read it all in one sitting. I didn't see the ending coming. I think the story went at a good pace. It took a while to get used to the writing at first, as I wasn't sure what was reality and what was hyperbole in some instances.

p
penelopegomez
Sep 04, 2019

This book was pretty interesting... Each summer Cadence and her cousins spend the summers on her family's private island...I know PRIVATE ISLAND! One summer Cadence suffered an accident that left her with debilitating migraines and a bad case of amnesia. As the story goes on she discovers something rather sinister has happened to her, but she can't remember what! I'm giving this book a thumbs up for keeping me guessing. Whatever you think happened to Cadence is NOT what actually happened and you will NEVER be able to guess what actually happened. All the clues are there pay attention and read this book to find out what happened that summer with the liars.

YLPLTEENBOOKBLOG Aug 20, 2019

E. Lockhart pens the incredible young adult novel, We Were Liars. The novel follows a young girl on a private island with her wealthy family. The novel was confusing at first, but clarification and a twist is presented at the very end. It made me want to go back and reread the novel, a second read that gave me incredible insight now that I had discovered the twist. I thought it was well written and had an interesting premise that is familiar in novels and films, but done in an original and intriguing fashion. I thought that the romance elements were entertaining, but I appreciated that the entire story did not revolved solely around the romantic relationship between the main character and her significant other. I highly suggest this novel to other readers. Emily, grade 12, of the Yorba Linda Teen Book Bloggers

s
Suki_Skywalker
Jul 15, 2019

This book was ok.....not amazing, but it wasn’t bad🤔

loonylovesgood Jul 05, 2019

One of the best YA novels I have read in a long time. It's been a few months since I've read it and I'm still thinking about it. One that you will want to go back and read again to catch things that you missed the first time around.

d
DarhkCanary
Apr 22, 2019

The end is so sad! But super good. Don't read if you don't mind sad endings.

a
Alyssa_RR
Apr 05, 2019

Great book. The story line was unexpected.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
miraellie
Apr 09, 2020

“Be a little kinder than you have to.”

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

We are liars. We are beautiful and privileged. We are cracked and broken."

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

So many stars, it seemed like a celebration, a grand, illicit party the galaxy was holding after the humans were put to bed"

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

It is possible people are curious about us because we do not show them our hearts. It is possible that we enjoy the way people are curious about us."

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

We believe that time heals."

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

We were warm and shivering, and young and ancient, and alive. I was thinking it's true we already love each other. already do."

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 10, 2019

Nothing, I lie there and wait, and remind myself over and over that it doesn't last forever. That there will be another day and after that, yet another day

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 06, 2019

He wanted to stop evil. He wanted to express his anger. He lived big, my brave Gat

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 06, 2019

What we'd had, how beautiful we were."

s
Shades_of_Night_9
Dec 06, 2019

Things are messed up in the world. That's all."

View All Quotes

Age

Add Age Suitability
p
pinkbumblebee
Dec 08, 2016

pinkbumblebee thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

b
bjgillingham
Oct 30, 2016

bjgillingham thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 20

e
ellizzabbetthhh01
Jun 18, 2016

ellizzabbetthhh01 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

k
kairoberts
Aug 06, 2015

kairoberts thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

claralex800 Feb 16, 2015

claralex800 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

roropan Nov 03, 2014

roropan thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

o
Orange_Elephant_51
Aug 25, 2014

Orange_Elephant_51 thinks this title is suitable for 11 years and over

Anna Kim Jun 30, 2014

Anna Kim thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

Laura_Jenkins May 03, 2014

Laura_Jenkins thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary
l
lila5
Oct 22, 2014

Super Good but super sad.

LibraryK8 Sep 03, 2014

The Sinclairs spend every summer on their private island, Beechwood. Born within a few short months of each other, 3 of the Sinclair grandchildren and one friend of the family spend the summers thick as thieves, calling themselves The Liars. Cadence, Johnny, Mirren and Gat are inseparable every year, but the summer of their fifteenth year, things start to change. Cadence begins to fall in love with Gat (a friend of the family who is invited to Beechwood every summer) while the Sinclair family falls apart around them.
The summer ends in a tragic accident when Cadence is found in the shallow water of the beach, unconscious and on the verge of hypothermia. Unable to remember what brought her to the beach Cadence spends most of the school year recovering from her injuries and suffering severe migraines brought on by head trauma (the doctors tell her she must have hit her head on the shallow rocks along the beach).
Cadence’s sixteenth summer she does not join the liars at Beechwood but is instead sent on a European tour with her father, spending much of the time bedridden from migraines. It isn’t until two years after the accident that Cadence returns to Beechwood and The Liars. Meanwhile her grandfather has built a new house, and family relations seem at an all-time high, Cadence’s accident ending her families constant bickering.
But things have changed between Cadence and The Liars since the fifteenth summer. Gat is despondent, Johnny is hiding something and Mirren fights bouts of nausea. Something isn’t right, and it has to do with her accident. Cadence is determined to find out the truth about The Liars, Beechwood and their fifteenth summer.

Dimmu16 Jul 11, 2014

THERE ARE SPOILERS! Cadence (Cady) is the heir to the very rich Sinclair family fortune. Her grandfather has a island where they spend every single summer at. When Cady is eight years old her anut Carrie meets a new guy (whom she is in love with) and he brings his nephew Gat to the island as company for Carrie's son Johnny. Johnny, Cady, Gat, and Mirren (whom is another cousin) create this group called The Liars (that only ever gets together at the island). When Cady is 15 something happens to the liars that causes her to almost kill herself. She then spends the next 2 years in Vermont or in Europe. When Cady is 17 years old she finally convinces her Mother to let her go back to the island so she can discover what happened 2 years ago. Also during those 2 years the other liars NEVER ONCE contacted her while she tried to contact them. So when Cady returns they are there acting like its normal and they haven't been seperated for 2 years without any contact what so ever. Basically after a lot of talking and some love. Cady discovers that Johnny, Gat, and Mirren died in a house fire.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top