The Great American Whatever

The Great American Whatever

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
"Teenaged Quinn, an aspiring screenwriter, copes with his sister's death while his best friend forces him back out into the world to face his reality"-- Provided by publisher.
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster BFYR, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781481404099
1481404091
9781481404105
1481404105
9781481404112
1481404113
Characteristics: 278 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

v
VidishaG
Sep 09, 2018

A pretty boring book, with a less-than-satisfactory ending. Would not recommend.

a
aashrita
Jun 16, 2018

This was literally the worst book I have ever read. Not really a plot, and extremely cringey language and word play.

e
EmilyStosek05
Apr 30, 2018

Honestly this was one of the best books i have ever read, i loved ever part of it.

b
brangwinn
Dec 11, 2016

A coming of age story with a main character I either wanted to hug or strangle. Quinn was a very believable teenager, with a few more problems than most teens have, including a father who walked out on his mom and a sister who was killed in an auto accident.

ArapahoeStaff2 Sep 14, 2016

While Quinn goes through some pretty tough stuff after his sister dies, this book also made me laugh out loud. Quinn felt so real. Also, check out the audiobook - Federle does an awesome job narrating.

LPL_WilliamO Jul 28, 2016

This is a fantastic story about coming to terms with loss, believing in friendship and discovering self. Quinn may be a smart aleck, but he warms up quickly and you'll care about his journey. One of the best YA reads this year!

f
Fei_Li
Jul 27, 2016

Filled with heart clenching moments and some sarcastic humour, this was an excellent read about friendship, love, and overcoming loss. It was brutally honest, leaving no filter on the guilt and devastation that the main character faced. Furthermore, the many comparisons between the ideal, screenplay version of events versus the reality shows many facets of Quinn-the first person voice-emphasizing raw emotions in an engaging manner. This book will definitely not disappoint.

LibrarianDest Jun 21, 2016

Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and David Levithan look no further. This is for you. And if you liked Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda YOU MUST READ [OR LISTEN TO] THIS.

bibliotechnocrat Jun 12, 2016

This terrific book covers a few weeks in the life of Quinn, a gay teen with a habit of seeing his life as a screenplay. What really makes this novel sing is the voice of the main character; the first person narration gives it great immediacy - as if Quinn is just blurting out the unfiltered events to you, the reader/therapist. By turns amusing and sad, the author has captured the intensity of the teen experience at the moment the main character begins to learn how to live. Well worth your time.

Tim Federle has now cemented himself in my list of favorite authors. His characters are so lovable and genuine, I am 100% all in. I love how "The Great American Whatever" celebrates film just as much as I love how "Better Nate Than Ever" celebrates musical theater. Love, love, love it.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top