Sacra corona

Sacra corona

(Venice, 1656)

Printed Music - 2015 | Latin
Rate this:
Book URL: This volume presents a complete edition of the anthology Sacra Corona (Venice: Magni, 1656). It contains solo motets for two and three voices with continuo by some of the foremost Venetian composers of the period (Giovanni Rovetta, Natale Monferrato, Francesco Cavalli, Massimiliano Neri, Giovanni Battista Volpe, Pietro Andrea Ziani, Biagio Marini, and Barbara Strozzi), as well as by four composers who worked in the papally controlled states on the Adriatic coast (Maurizio Cazzati, Orazio Tarditi, Stefano Filippini, and Simone Vesi). A detailed study of contemporary documents reveals possible reasons for this somewhat idiosyncratic choice of composers, finding them in the family history of the publisher, Bartolomeo Magni (descended from a dynasty of Ravennese musicians) and in contemporary political relations between Venice and the Papacy, the former being dependent on the latter for funding in its ongoing military campaign against the Turks. A pivotal figure in these relations was Giorgio Corner, bishop of Padua and a scion of a prominent Venetian family (whose private musical chapel employed two of the composers in the anthology, Simone Vesi and Biagio Marini).
Publisher: Middleton, Wisconsin : A-R Editions, Inc., [2015]
Copyright Date: ©2015
ISBN: 9780895798053
Characteristics: 1 score (xl, 256 pages, 3 pages of plates) : facsimiles ; 31 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings


Find it at CPL

To Top