Someone Is Watching

Someone Is Watching

Large Print - 2015
Average Rating:
9
Rate this:
Perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner, Mary Higgins Clark, and Jenny Milchman, "Someone Is Watching" is a pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat novel of suspense that features the extraordinary storytelling gifts of bestselling author Joy Fielding on full display.
As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she's assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is completely blindsided--attacked and nearly killed.
Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she's unable to venture beyond her front door without feeling panic. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people's lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome playboy across the street. Until she realizes that he is also watching "her."Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.
Though crippled by fear, Bailey knows she can't ignore her suspicions and risk leaving a predator at large. With the police making no headway in solving her case, she's determined to overcome her terror and take back the power she lost by unmasking her attacker and taking him down herself. But it's a harrowing battle that threatens to wreck Bailey's credibility, compromise an investigation, and maybe even claim her sanity.
Publisher: Farmington Hills, Mich. : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale Cengage Learning, 2015.
Edition: Large print edition.
ISBN: 9781410477866
141047786X
Characteristics: 597 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

p
pharra19
Jun 27, 2017

Reading the first two thirds of this book was like slogging through snow up to your knees: tiring and tedious. Okay, we get it! The heroine was raped and totally traumatized.
Somehow, however, it just didn't ring true. This was a capable, trained investigator, and she totally fell apart after the event?
Thankfully, the book somewhat redeemed itself towards the end...when something actually happened!

z
Zoelexi777
Nov 16, 2015

This was another good book by Joy Fielding. The ending was unexpected.

n
nannerl
Sep 02, 2015

At 369 pages, this book was 300 pages too long. Lots of repetition, unlikeable characters, and unbelievable scenarios. Rather than torture myself unnecessarily, after reading a third of the book I checked the end to find out 'whodunit', and that was the end of my relationship with this book. Very disappointing.

garnet51 Jul 24, 2015

Tedious. Too long. Profanity from young girl. Skipped to ending to avoid more duplication of main character's
"thoughts". Surprise ending.

l
lpreston214
Jul 15, 2015

Good, and I think, realistic book about the consequences of rape. Bailey Carpenter, raped while on the job as an investigator, struggles with sleeping, feeling clean and being around men. Slowly, however she begins to recover as she tries to take more control of her life and of the investigation. I also like the reactions of those around her, heartfelt sympathy, the patience of the police, the help of her therapist. No tells her to "snap out of it". But who could it be? A former boyfriend, a stranger, someone she has investigated, the man in the apt across the street, and what's the connection with a pending lawsuit involving an inheritance? As Bailey gets back to living her life, she finds out who her real supporters are.

karcoldelharvic5 Jun 15, 2015

Loved this book. Well written, fast paced.

Pat2686 Jun 01, 2015

I was disappointed with this
book. I read some of her previous books which I thought were quite good.
I didn't like the main character
and I thought the rear view
window drama was boring.

g
Granof5
Apr 14, 2015

Excellent as always. Couldn't put it down.

debwalker Apr 10, 2015

Messed-up family, creepy stalker...and then a powerfully written story about the impact of a horrible crime....saying no more, but every woman needs to read this for that alone. Fielding is on her game.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top