Two Boys Kissing

Two Boys Kissing

Downloadable Audiobook - 2013 | Unabridged.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
14
1
New York Times bestselling author David Levithan tells the based-on-true-events story of Harry and Craig, two 17-year-olds who are about to take part in a 32-hour marathon of kissing to set a new Guinness World Record--all of which is narrated by a Greek Chorus of the generation of gay men lost to AIDS...
Publisher: New York : Listening Library, 2013.
Edition: Unabridged.
ISBN: 9780804123747
0804123748
Characteristics: 1 online resource (1 sound file (9 hr., 13 min., 39 sec.)) : digital.

Opinion

From Library Staff

List - Top Challenged Books
M4caal Aug 31, 2017

Included on the National Book Award longlist and designated a Stonewall Honor Book, this young adult novel was challenged because its cover has an image of two boys kissing, and it was considered to include sexually explicit LGBT content.

Two boys try to break the world record for longest kiss while other stories weave in and out.

Stonewall Honor

As two seventeen-year-old boys take on the Guinness World Record for kissing, they momentarily become the center of the universe for love, loss and triumph.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
saturn5bob
Aug 12, 2019

just exactly what we need , a "how to manual"
this will ensure the future of the planet to be sure
but I look thru the shelves for anything about electric vehicle technology
NADA !
good work epl staff !

f
fantasyqueen
Jul 14, 2019

Too painful to read having lived thru the late '70's early 80's. Maybe some other time

k
KMJ_
Dec 23, 2016

Once I started reading David Levithan books, I couldn’t stop. All of his books are unique and inventive, and Two Boys Kissing is no different. A Greek chorus made up of a generation lost to AIDS narrates this story of eight interconnected teenagers. The narrators are in awe of all the changes that have happened since their lifetime, but also sad to see that hatefulness and judgement have not gone away. The title characters are Craig and Harry, who have set out to break the Guinness World record for longest kiss. They attract a worldwide audience as they try to reach their goal. It is a beautifully written book that is both sad and hopeful.

ArapahoeDaniel Nov 21, 2016

This is a great novel for anyone who loves a feel good story. Levithan does a wonderful job of telling the stories of total strangers and intertwining them to create a warm-hearted ending. The characters take on the tough issues surrounding the LGBTQ community, cope with those issues, and address them and give a hopeful outlook for the readers.

w
wpl_teenleadership
Nov 14, 2016

The touching novel written by David Levithan, 'two boys kissing' is a mix of many shorter stories combined into one fantastic book. With the cute dates and the record breaking, the stories of these LGBT couples will warm your heart.

I recommend this book to those who struggle or have struggled with finding their identities as well as dealing with all types of discrimination relating the LGBT community. The book allows insight on many issues that are very relatable and common amongst LGBT youth.

Reviewed by Cam for the Teen Leadership Council.

Liked Two Boys Kissing? Cam recommends Drag Teen, Gracefully Grayson, or Every Day as similar reads.

m
moviefan01
Aug 19, 2016

Wow! What a novel! I liked how this author told the stories of eight characters: Three couples and two singles, and the story line involving Craig and Harry's kiss-a-thon was very compelling. The first time I read this novel, the Greek chorus of gay men plot device was somewhat off putting, and one of my friends didn't like that angle at all and didn't finish the novel, but on a second reading, I found it pleasant enough. One unfortunate angle: The library copy I read had been defaced, with anti-gay remarks penciled in, then erased by library staffers. It would be easy for me to soapbox about that, but I'll keep to giving this book a 5-star rating.

k
katie_walton
Oct 12, 2015

I really loved this book. The narration was unique in that it is told by a Greek Chorus of gay men who died of AIDS and are now looking down on young gay men trying to find their voices in a world that wants to silence them. The writing was beautiful and the story was triumphant. I feel like this world would be a much better place if this book were required reading for everyone in high school. People might just be nicer to one another for having spent time with these characters.

This YA book has a lot of maturity and depth to it-- definitely more substantive than, say, Twilight. People who like Rainbow Rowell's or John Green's YA novels will probably like this one, too, because it is more serious but also more beautifully written. The concept of the narrator(s) being an omniscient Greek Chorus of gay men who died of AIDS is brilliant, and the choice to make the novel about the stories of multiple gay teens instead of just one or two offers lots of differing viewpoints and experiences on what it's like to be a gay or trans youth today, from those of very accepting and open experiences to those cast out of their families. Absolutely brilliant and moving.

lbarkema Aug 01, 2014

Every one of David Levithan's books is unique and different and he is not afraid to try something totally new. This is why I keep reading his novels, that and he really can write some beautiful sentences. Two Boys Kissing was no exception. It is not my absolute favorite that I have read of his but it was still very good and I really enjoyed the way it was told.

s
Sarahjka
Jul 28, 2014

Every time two boys kiss, it opens up the world a little bit more."
Two Boys Kissing is a powerful mix of voices, generations, pains, and fears. Characters and voices that will show readers how so many emotions and opinions have changed and how so many things heart-shatteringly remain the same. Parents hurt, kids bully, and society disappoints no matter what the year on the calendar reads. BUT at the same time people reach out, pain heals, and hearts beat with life and love. Two boys kissing is the first book I'm reading by David Levithan, and it will definitely not be the last! This book is amazing, so beautiful and real. It made me laugh and it made me cry, ripping my heart to shred.
The cover pretty much sums up the major plot surrounding eight characters, whose storylines overlap: Ex-boyfriends Harry and Craig aim to break the Guinness World Record for the longest kiss inspired and supported by their friend Tariq who got beaten up by haters. Meanwhile, we get to know the couple Neil and Peter, follow Ryan when he starts dating Avery who was born in a girl’s body and Cooper, who doesn’t feel comfortable with his identity.
I fell in love with all the characters, struggling and laughing with them, feeling their pain and joy! There were so many emotional moments in this book, so many things that made me think. I had to reread a lot of the things I read, not because I didn't get it, but because it was so amazingly well written!

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary
LibraryK8 Jun 24, 2014

This book has caught everyone’s attention (as Levithan’s books often do). The story centers around an attempt to break the Guinness Book of World Records longest kiss (over 32 hours) by ex-boyfriends Craig and Harry in protest of a hate crime. Add to that the love story of Ryan and transgendered Avery, Peter and Neil (a new couple ready to take the next step) and Cooper, a runaway obsessed with gay hook-up apps and the story is full of interesting and well rounded characters. To add to the complexity of the story it is narrated by a chorus of “shadow uncles” (gay men of the AIDS generation) offering up opinions and advice. It is a very unique read and one that is sure to have plenty of fans.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Related Authors

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top