What Are You Looking At?

What Are You Looking At?

The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves , art history with a sense of humor

Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art--and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At ? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they're looking at.
Publisher: New York : Dutton, c2012.
ISBN: 9780142180297
0142180297
9780525952671
0525952675
Characteristics: xxi, 435 p., [16] p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
Norman C. Smith
May 18, 2013

Gompertz has really done a very good job of organizing the various streams in the development of modern art, and has shown what has led from one stage to the next. I recommend this book for anyone who is interested in modern art, but who has really little exposure to the rationale behind it. By the way, I found it best to read it with a computer open to a search page, so that I could look at the various works he described; there are illustrations, but not enough.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top