Skarlet

Skarlet

Paperback - 2012
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, it's open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets. Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2012.
ISBN: 9781250017956
1250017955
9780312621704
0312621701
Characteristics: 373 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
daeb
Sep 10, 2013

A good read, but suffers from some truly horrible editing. Sentences such as "A silence fell. And then he broke it", and without a trace of irony, "You're so muscley, so hunky, she said", should never have been in the book, and are only two of many such sloppy edits that ruin the flow of the story. Doesn't add much to the mythos, but is not altogether horrible. Beach read.

mrmervis Feb 10, 2013

An itneresting take on vampire mythology. Very easy read.

l
laurinda_ann
Nov 23, 2012

normally, i do like vampire tales. i have read different authors. However, as much as i did like the initial premise of this book.. I was mired down in detail that may have been important to the author, but myself i became quickly bored. filling in the details and not needing the author to do so over and over. I think the idea of this book is great and i hope that he gets an opportunity to hone his writing skills. personally, i think that his editors needed to be improved not his writing

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top