Death and the Maiden

Death and the Maiden

Paperback - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Frank Tallis, acclaimed author of the Edgar Award-nominated Vienna Secrets, returns with a new and masterfully woven tale full of deceit, love, and rich mystery. Set in fin de si#65533;cle Vienna, it's perfect for fans of Boris Akunin, Alan Furst, and David Liss.

Ida Rosenkranz is top diva at the Vienna Opera, but she's gone silent for good after an apparent laudanum overdose. Learning of her professional rivalries and her scandalous affairs with older men, Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann suspect foul play instead. Their investigation leads them into dark and dangerous conflicts with Gustav Mahler, the opera's imperious director, who is himself the target of a poison pen campaign, and Karl Lueger, Vienna's powerful and anti-Semitic mayor. As the peril escalates, Rheinhardt grows further into his role as family man, while Liebermann finds himself at odds with his inamorata, Amelia, who's loosening both her corset and her tongue in the new feminist movement.

PRAISE FOR FRANK TALLIS'S VIENNA THRILLERS

"[A] captivating historical series."-- The New York Times Book Review

"[A] riveting read . . . with well researched and wonderfully imagined period detail."-- The Guardian (U.K.), on Vienna Twilight

"Chock-full of tantalizing elements."-- The Austin Chronicle, on Vienna Secrets

"Engrossing . . . immensely satisfying."-- The Boston Globe, on Fatal Lies
Publisher: New York : Random House Trade Paperbacks, c2012.
ISBN: 9780679644866
0679644865
9780812983340
0812983343
Characteristics: 373 p. ; 21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

akarenina May 29, 2012

For me this was OTT with discussion of musical terminology and Freudian psychology, but that must be expected when two of the characters are Mahler and Freud. The mystery itself was not very engaging with the conclusion being less than satisfying, and Liebermann and Rheinhardt seemed rather wooden this time around. I might be taking Frank Tallis off my list of authors.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top