Far From Home

Far From Home

A Novel

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"A gorgeous novel of coincidence and redemption....A story that will impact our own lives profoundly."
--Katrina Kittle, author of The Kindness of Strangers

A wonderful new literary voice in the vein of A. Manette Ansay, Ami McKay, and Joanne Harris, Anne DeGrace makes her U.S. debut with Far From Home--a thoughtful and lovely novel about the chance encounters that can change our lives forever. Paulette Jiles, the New York Times bestselling author of Enemy Women, calls Anne DeGrace "a gifted story teller" and Far From Home "thoroughly enjoyable." The story of a lost teenager who finds herself in a diner in the middle of nowhere, Far From Home is superb introduction for U.S readers to a talented writer who has already made a splash in her native Canada.

Publisher: New York : Avon A, 2009.
ISBN: 9780061728808
0061728802
Characteristics: p. cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Cdnbookworm May 18, 2011

This was a finalist for the OLA Evergreen Award.
The story is set at a cafe on a mountain pass highway in BC. As the various characters pass through the cafe, we learn their back stories and how they came to be where they are. As you can guess from the title, the book is inspired by the wind and each chapter has a wind theme to it, from Tailwind to Wayward Wind to Wind Shift, the action in the chapter matches its heading. All of the story takes place in the late '70s. Local characters range from the owner of the cafe, Cass, to the local police officer, Bob. Passing through are Jo, a young teen out of Calgary; Pink, a young man from the US travelling with the wind; and many others. I loved the characters and how the stories led into each other.

d
damation
May 18, 2010

a young girl leaves home because of betrayal and ends up working in a cafe on the highway.
There she meets a series of characters that are all searching for something that they have lost or have had taken from them.
This is a book that is an easy read but is full of fascinating people that are all wounded but have been able to maintain a sense of humor and real caring for others.
I really enjoyed this interweaving of these chance encounters in a isolated roadside diner.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top