One Book, One Chicago is on right now. Join us!
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon is available for all Chicagoans to read online in six installments.
Part 2 is available until Sunday, March 8, 2015.

Chicago is reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon. Join us!

Show Less  Learn More 
Loading...
[]
[]
All CPL locations will be closed Monday, March 2.

Freedom Summer

The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn and Made America A Democracy

Watson, Bruce

(Book - 2010)
Average Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
Freedom Summer
Print
A majestic history of the summer of '64, which forever changed race relations in America In the summer of 1964, with the civil rights movement stalled, seven hundred college students descended on Mississippi to register black voters, teach in Freedom Schools, and live in sharecroppers' shacks. But by the time their first night in the state had ended, three volunteers were dead, black churches had burned, and America had a new definition of freedom. This remarkable chapter in American history, the basis for the controversial film Mississippi Burning , is now the subject of Bruce Watson's thoughtful and riveting historical narrative. Using in- depth interviews with participants and residents, Watson brilliantly captures the tottering legacy of Jim Crow in Mississippi and the chaos that brought such national figures as Martin Luther King Jr. and Pete Seeger to the state. Freedom Summer presents finely rendered portraits of the courageous black citizens-and Northern volunteers-who refused to be intimidated in their struggle for justice, and the white Mississippians who would kill to protect a dying way of life. Few books have provided such an intimate look at race relations during the deadliest days of the Civil Rights movement, and Freedom Summer will appeal to readers of Taylor Branch and Doug Blackmon.
Publisher: New York : Viking, c2010.
ISBN: 0670021709
9780670021703
Characteristics: 369 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Jul 10, 2014
  • KNBW rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Bruce Watson does an outstanding job in his book, Freedom Summer by grabbing the readers attention and bringing them back to 1960`s of Mississippi recalling the events that caused the rest of America to become aware of the racism and brutality that was taking place down in Mississippi between locals and college students from other states who had volunteered to persuade blacks to vote, help them receive an education, and to question their place in Mississippi after begin oppressed for so long.

Astonishing the reader along the way of how a Mississippians hatred can run deep causing them to beat, murder, and torture blacks and volunteers and believe that they were doing it for something right. Then to reflect how Mississippi has changed now with the short amount of time. It is the perfect book to read for anyone who is interested and keeps the readers wanting more.

Dec 08, 2010
  • desai rated this: 4 stars out of 5.

great, exciting, read. could use some editing

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Find it at CPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
app06 Version musli Last updated 2015/02/24 14:10